20 Years Since Tiananmen Massacre

Today is the 20th anniversary of the massacre at Tiananmen Square and the Chinese government has remained silent. I wonder how long it will take before this day becomes an official holiday in China and those who died in their struggle for a democracy are remembered and honored? Will I see it in my life time. I hope so. I have vague memories of when it happened in 1989, I was nine years old. I remember my father looking at the headlines at our local market, Murrishes, and shaking his head. I think he tried to explain some of it to me on the way home. I just started reading a novel by Ha Jin called A Free Life. Coincidentally the novel is set in the early 90s and about Chinese who immigrated to the US to escape being punished in China for their involvement in the movement. Magnum has a good series of photos remembering the movement and this day.

Leave a Reply

