BART Police Shooting

It was not until the day before yesterday that I started to take a serious look at this BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) Police killing on New Years Day. I was actually on BART that night around the same time as the shooting and I noticed a lot of police at the West Oakland BART station looking rather anxious. BART has their own police force that patrol the stations and trains. After viewing a few of the numerous films of the shooting death of Oscar Grant I find myself angered, saddened, confused and outraged. What was this police officer thinking? After watching the video I can only see this as cold blooded murder. The only explanation I have heard is that the officer thought he had his taser in his hand and thought he was tasering the man. I find this excuse to be unreasonable and ludicrous. Here is a link to one of the SF Chronicle articles detailing the event dated Jan. 4. Since the shooting there has been riots and protests in Oakland that have caused thousands of dollars to Oakland businesses and further tarnished Oakland’s fragile reputation. It is unfortunate that the public has reacted this way. However, this completly unjustified killing of an unarmed man by a police officer and the slow response from law enforcement are the heart of the problem.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “BART Police Shooting”

  1. deadfallkid Says:

    Hi there. I read your b log and thought you might be interested in what I had written about in regards to the shooting. My wordpress name is deadfallkid. The blog is, “B.A.R.T. Shooting on New Year’s Eve”

Leave a Reply

