Tourism Day

Yesterday was World Tourism Day. I just found out there was such a thing. Tourism happens to be a more complex phenomenon than it might appear to be. I have heard the German film director, Werner Herzog, quoted, “Tourism is Terrorism.” But I love to travel. The quotes below sum up many of my feelings about why I travel and the more positive side to tourism.

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.
Jawaharlal Nehru

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.
Lao Tzu

For my part, I travel not to go anywhere,
but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.
R L Stevenson

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds
in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
Mark Twain

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
Helen Keller

Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.
Miriam Beard

If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.
James Michener

Slate has a nice series on Mongolia that I am still making my way through.

Leave a Reply

