Campaign Junky

I have become a little obsessed with following the presidential campaign. I have been listening to the Washington Post Political Podcast, a free daily political news show with Ed O’keefe, who does his reporting in a 1920s fast pace style. You can find the podcast on Itunes. I have also been reading this Washington Post Campaign Blog.

I was in India during the entire ’04 election and was happy to not be a part of the bombardment of media spouting bullshit on a daily basis, but for some reason I am embracing this race whole heartedly. I think a lot of it has to do with Barak Obama. I am so happy to have a guy who I can truly respect and believe in. I am aware that he a politician and therefor a trickster, but at least he is a trickster that I want to be tricked by. This guy was a constitutional law professor at the University of Chicago. Can you imagine Bush trying to teach constitutional law? This New York Times piece: Teaching Law, Testing Ideas, Obama Stood Slightly Apart, shows what kind of a teacher he was. Don’t neglect the syllabus and exams on the side bar. The article ends with a quote from one of his former students:

So even some former students who are thrilled at Mr. Obama’s success wince when they hear him speaking like the politician he has so fully become.

“When you hear him talking about issues, it’s at a level so much simpler than the one he’s capable of,” Mr. Rodriguez said. “He was a lot more fun to listen to back then.”

Another aspect that excited me about Obama, is an opportunity for the US to gain back a little more respect among the international community. Bush has dropped US standing in the world to an all time low. I still vividly remember a night in Kashmir when an old Muslim Kashmiri man was so sure that Kerry would beat Bush that he was willing to bet me a Kashmiri rug on the outcome of the election. I took him up on the bet, but I still haven’t seen that rug. The international community was so sure that Bush would not be re-elected to a second term and the American population let them down. But now there is a chance to regain some credibility!

I guess I haven’t been posting on this blog as much lately because I have been spending too much time following the election. I am going to try and spend a little less time reading about the latest campaign news and dedicate my next post to William Blake.

Go Obama!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

