Beatles Guru Retires Into Silence

 The Maharishi Mahesh Yogi will no longer take charge of the day to day operations of his large spiritual community.  I didn’t know this Yogi was still alive, let alone, still giving talks and overseeing his cult following.  I don’t know much about the Transcendental Meditation (TM) movement, but I do know it has attracted some quite famous figures, the Beatles, the Beach Boys, and David Lynch.  I have talked to people involved with this group and they are usually very enthusiastic about it.  I think the Yogi gives you a secret mantra.  I am wondering what will happen when the Maharishi retires to the power-structure of the TM community.  I know the International Society of Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON or Hari Krishna’s) largely fell apart when their guru, A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, died.  This article gives an overview. 

3 Responses to “Beatles Guru Retires Into Silence”

  1. John M. Knapp, LMSW Says:

    Many critics consider Transcendental Meditation a cult led by the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi. For an alternative view of the TM Movement, readers may be interested in checking out TM-Free Blog, TranceNet.net, or my counseling site, KnappFamilyCounseling.com/cultsb.html, where individuals recovering from Transcendental Meditation and similar groups will find helpful information.

    John M. Knapp, LMSW
    http://KnappFamilyCounseling.com/cultsb.html

  2. Teo-Wolf Says:

    I saw David Lynch speak last year at Berkeley about TM as the source of his creative inspiration. He described the process of meditation as “shedding the rubber clown suit of our personality and diving into a deep pool of bliss.” Sounds good to me.

  3. shankarwolf Says:

    Hey Teo-Wolf, that sounds good to me also. I like the way Mr. Lynch puts it!

Leave a Reply

