Bala Hanuman Temple

The recent post on Gujarat reminded me of some of the places I visited on my travels through the state. One place which still blows me away when I recall it is the Bala Hanuman Temple. Inside this temple people have been chanting continuously (24-7-365) the same chant since August 1, 1964! The chant is the “Ram Dhun” and the invocation is ‘Shri Ram, Jai Ram, Jai Jai Ram’. My friend Noah, and I, chanted with them for an hour or so and then took prasad (fruit and nuts offered to the deities). It was quite extraordinary. This level of devotion is incomprehensible in the West. They are still chanting, right now, as I type these words. Sri Ram, Jai Ram, Jai Jai Ram.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Bala Hanuman Temple”

  1. yourmitra Says:

    you mean non-stop by same group of people? really amazing!!

    RK

    http://www.rentalandrealestate.com
    Rental and Real Estate Social Network and Classifieds

  2. shankarwolf Says:

    I think it’s a rotating group of brahmins, city residents, students, and tourists and whoever else happens to be around, but I am sure they have an organized system to keep the chanting going. I would like to stop in at 3 AM some night just to see what it is like.

  3. Wolfganga Noah Says:

    Maybe the shankar will do the chanting at 3am next time he visits…

  4. CrippLeD SaM Says:

    || Om Shri Hanumate Namah: ||

    Thanks for this Article- This is the most cool, because this is my Bithday!!! I think I’m going there.

    If you are intersted in Shri Hanuman, you can download Hanuman Chalisa, Hanuman Mantra Jaap Mala and more Mp3’s at:

    http://hanumanji.wordpress.com

    YouRs SinCereLy M!sTer CrippLeD SaM

  5. JAMES FREEMAN Says:

    idiots

Leave a Reply

