Indian World Chess Champion

There is a new world chess champion, and he is from India. Viswanathan Anand won the title on Saturday September 29th in Mexico City.

He took the championship from Vladamir Kramnik of Russia. This reminds me of a train trip I was on recently in India. My friends and I were sitting in the same compartment as the #3 child chess champion in India. This 11 year old kid beat one of my friends (who I considered a very good chess player) without looking at the board. He was amazing. He never thought for more than a couple seconds before making his move.

4 Responses to “Indian World Chess Champion”

  1. Eric Kirk Says:

    Wow! I don’t think he was even rated in the top 5 at the beginning of the tournament.

    I should point out that between 1945 until the fall of the Soviet Union the Soviets dominated the world championship with a three year interlude of Bobby Fischer’s reign. All of the world champions from 1945 to present have been Russian excluding Bobby Fischer and Mikhail Tal (champion in the late 1950s) who was Latvian.

    I was going to say that Anand is the first world champion ever from a country not in Europe or the US, but that would have been wrong. Jose Capablanca, a Cuban, was champion during the 1920s.

    I’ll link to this post and make some comments tomorrow.

  2. shankarwolf Says:

    Hey Eric, thanks for bringing up the interesting historic points. I guess Anand is the first champion from a non-western courtry. I did not realize the championship had been dominated so strongly by the Russians.

  3. Eric Kirk Says:

    Yup, primarily during the Soviet Union. In fact, they used to hold matches teaming up the 10 best players from the Soviet Union against the 10 best players from the rest of the world and the Soviets usually won handily.

    This is good. Anand will hopefully inspire a generation of Indian players and expand the circle. This is especially appropriate as I believe the game originated in India.

  4. New face in the chess world championship « Sohum Parlance II Says:

    […] 18, 2007 in Uncategorized Shankar brought this to my attention. The new world champion chess player is an Indian named Viswanathan Anand. This is the first time a […]

Leave a Reply

