Namaste

“Namaste” a common greeting in India. Does anyone know what it means? I came across this translation a few months back that is just beautiful.

I honor the place in you
where the Universe resides

I honor the place in you
of love, of light, of truth, of peace

I honor the place within you,
where if you are in that place in you
and I am in that place in me
there is only One of Us.

4 Responses to “Namaste”

  1. kaivalya Says:

    Nama is an adoration or salutation – like “Namah Shivayaha” for Shaivas.
    and “ste” is the formal “You” – derived from tvam / te.

    you asked…

  2. shankarwolf Says:

    Thanks Kaivalya; do you study sanskrit?

    Namah Shivayaha

  3. kaivalya Says:

    I did, although I don’t get around to it much these days.
    religion/philosophy is my thing.

  4. shankarwolf Says:

    Kaivalya; religion/philosohy is one of my things too and your contributions to this blog will be greatly appreciated. I’m especially interested in Eastern thought. I have spent a good deal of time in India and feel quite close to the spirituality practiced there.

Leave a Reply

